Where I’m from.

I started this blog as a means of keeping my friends/family in the US informed of my travels in the UK. However, now that I’ve returned to the US, I’ve decided to keep it going as a means of updating my British family of sorts about my adventures on this side of the pond.

In that spirit, I’d like to present snip-its of my first few weeks back in America (in mostly chronological order). Here it goes.

My introduction back into America began with a trip through its glorious history – a history of silly hats and games of tug of war.

Times were tough in 1838.

I participated in the American economy by going with Peter and Andrew to the Brimfield flea market (okay I didn’t actually buy anything…but I did encourage them to buy a sick bird-cage thing).

Contemplating the utility of a wooden statue.

Despite having two bikes in the UK, I missed my amazing technicolor bicycle terribly while away. We’ve been having some bonding time to make up for my absence.

Bike date at the reservoir.

When not riding my bike I tried out my other set of wheels, my car Delilah. Having not driven a vehicle for 9 months, I was more than a little nervous to get behind the wheel – though it turns out most people in MA still drive worse than me. Somethings never change.

Excited to drive on the right side of the road.

Having concurred the open road, I drove to the most American event I could think of – the country fair. I mean, where else in the world can you buy a corn dog that’s nearly a meter long?

Only in America.

Having survived two weeks of full on MA intensity, I made it to my birthday! To celebrate I went apple picking with Jona and the family (a fall tradition for the Belisle’s).

Jona would like you to know that his apple is as red as his lips...

Squinty with excitement.

After apples Jona surprised me with a make your own pizza dinner with some of favourite people on this side of the Atlantic. It was absolutely lovely.

Pizza party fun times.

Well I guess that’s all for now! Be warned, Jona got me this AWESOME book on how to make pickles/jams/liqueurs/cheese/etc., so expect many more food adventure posts. I wonder if Jona and I can have anywhere near the fermentation success of the bee and bird combo (not blowing things up would be an improvement)? Things to consider.

About rbelisle

A bee researcher moving from Boston to Bath. Trying to make a difference in a world full of b's.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

