I’m a stranger here myself

So once upon a time, this author named Bill Bryson moved from America to the UK and then moved back, landing in New Hampshire, some years later. He proceeded to write a bunch of articles about his experiences transitioning back to his former home, and compiled them into a book entitled “I’m a Stranger Here Myself.” It’s pretty hilarious. I recommend.

I’ve decided to reread it having just returned to America myself, and it’s prompted me to consider how different my life in the states to the my one back in Bath. Notable differences include:

  1. Sales tax: I totally forgot that this wasn’t included in the written price of something in the US! I had an embarrassing moment today when I went to buy a notebook for $0.99 with the only 4 quarters I had – imagine my surprise when the nice cashier lady asked me for $1.05. Luckily an even nicer lady gave my a nickel.
  2. Cars: I have easily spent more time in a car in this past 3 weeks than I did in the entire year I lived in England. I’ve spent infinitely more time driving.
  3. Landscape: Lawns – people have them. Trees – they are everywhere.

I’m sure there are lots more things that I am too lazy to write about right now, things like food and accents and sales people who check in with you way to often, but consider those 3 a start.

 

About rbelisle

A bee researcher moving from Boston to Bath. Trying to make a difference in a world full of b's.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

