13.1 and done

So it’s been awhile since my last post, but if you were wondering what I’ve been doing in my non-blogging time it’s been this: running.

In a stroke of brilliance last October I signed up for the Bath half-marathon, with the logic that race registration would cost less than a gym membership and would probably get me in to shape just as effectively. Well though it seemed far away when I registered, March 6th has come and gone and so has my first half-marathon.

In short, it went really well. I ran the whole thing (all I was really hoping for) and managed to finish 15 minutes faster than I thought I would. Feel free to feast your eyes on this horrible cell phone pick as proof of my finishing.

that medal says finisher on it!

 

See that. They only give those shiny blankets to the best of runners.

I can attribute my success to my fellow racers (those in costume certainly kept me entertained), my amazing fans (complete with cow bell) and not at all to energy gels (those things are horribly disgusting).

Fun fact: I run approximately as fast as a 5 year old can bike. Clearly I’m a speed demon.

 

About rbelisle

A bee researcher moving from Boston to Bath. Trying to make a difference in a world full of b's.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 13.1 and done

  1. annie says:

    YAY! thats awesome! i hope i can make it in August when i do mine… ! i wish we could run one together!! we could talk the whole time about all the stuff we’ve been missing out on in each other lives recently! we were the best running buddies 🙂

Leave a Reply

