And living in the UK begins

In the past week I’ve made some accomplishments that I think have finally transitioned me from someone trying to move here to someone living here. These accomplishments include: starting my graduate program, registering with a doctor, and opening a bank account.

Now starting my grad program was bound to happen and registering with a doctor took all of 20 minutes but this opening a bank account thing has been quite the ordeal involving five bank visits, hours or waiting and official letters saying I’m a real person. Let’s just say I am glad it is taken care of. To celebrate this achievement (and the cashing of my first grant check) I allowed myself some small indulgences, including honey, a cheaper phone-plan (I know have access to unlimited text, 300 minutes and the world’s slowest data plan for 15 quid a month!), and Glastonbury tickets.

Okay so that last one has a significantly bigger price tag but I just couldn’t pass up the opportunity to camp in tents with a bunch of hippies (including my beloved hippies from back home) and attend the world’s biggest outdoor music and art’s festival. Hurray!

In other news, I’ve started making friends! Yesterday was movie and crisps night, this morning I hosted a pancake breakfast/ticket buying extravaganza, and tonight I am going to pub quiz with a couple of people from my lab. It’s sure to be a jolly good time.

About rbelisle

A bee researcher moving from Boston to Bath. Trying to make a difference in a world full of b's.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

