The hunt is on

Welcome to Bath everyone! In case you missed it I flew out of Boston on Thursday night, and through some craziness arrived in Bath on Friday morning. The past few days have been something of a jet-lagged, running around, hipster filled blur but first impressions seem good. Not only is Bath filled with buildings that look like this:

*picture of abbey goes here*

But I’ve got to appreciate a place where I could walk down the street wearing cowboy boots, gold spandex and a striped tunic and look like a local. Yes.

Since arriving I’ve put most of my efforts into finding a place to live and so far they have been only moderately successful. Moderately successful in that I am yet to find a place to live but I am learning more and more about the type of place I would like to live in. Dirty, no. Small, OK. With random people met at the Bath house hunting day, probs not.

Anyways, despite going to 6 properties today with no huge success, I am not disheartened. I’ve switched my focus away from living with extremely desperate freshers (maybe I should say here that UBath has a bit of situation on their hands, with a couple hundred of their 1st years not having a place to live on campus – this translates to swarms of panicked children and their parents descending upon available houses like west virginians on road kill) to normal professional people who happen to have very lovely rooms in their very lovely houses. Makes sense.

Something that is becoming a frustration to me is this whole not having a phone business. It turns out mobile phones are incredibly convenient, particularly when you are trying to track down land lords and such. I plan to resolve this tomorrow.

And now a fun fact: the traffic lights in the UK use the yellow when going from red to green as well as from green to red. true story.

About rbelisle

A bee researcher moving from Boston to Bath. Trying to make a difference in a world full of b's.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The hunt is on

  1. andrew says:

    i knew this about traffic lights. makes the yellow meaningless, yeah? because if you just see a yellow light you don’t know to slow or not.

Leave a Reply

